Girl sitting at a desk watching a course on her laptop.


Working Students,
Building Futures

Help us improve and expand
work-integrated learning

To stay competitive in the wake of COVID-19, Canadian businesses will need talent with practical experience and future-relevant skills.

One of the most promising ways to do this is by expanding access to work-integrated learning (WIL).

Man writing at a desk
  • Internships
  • Co-ops
  • Apprenticeships
  • Bootcamps and hackathons
  • Incubators and accelerators
  • Mandatory professional practices
  • Applied research programs
  • Service learning
  • Field experience

Stakeholder meetings

Past events

Across Canada

Work-integrated learning (WIL) can be used in Canada’s structural policy response to supporting small and medium-sized employers (SMEs) during the recovery from COVID19. As policy discourse shifts from liquidity support measures for SME survival to support for recovery, WIL has a key role to play in helping SMEs access skilled talent and find solutions to business challenges.

Virtual event | July 30, 2020 1:30pm EST

Read what we heard

Territories

During the summer of 2020, we spoke to industry and education stakeholders in Canada’s Territories to better understand the barriers that students and employers face in creating or accessing work-integrated learning (WIL), particularly in the wake of COVID-19. We sought to identify solutions to increase the number and quality of WIL placement opportunities.

Virtual event | July 28, 2020 4:00pm EDT, 2:00pm MDT, 1:00pm PDT

Read what we heard

British Columbia

During the summer of 2020, we spoke to industry and education stakeholders in British Columbia to better understand the barriers students and employers face in creating or accessing work-integrated learning (WIL), especially in the wake of COVID-19. We sought to identify solutions to increase the number and quality of WIL placement opportunities.

Virtual event | July 22, 2020 11:00am PDT

Read what we heard

Central Canada Regional Summary

During the summer of 2020, we spoke to industry and education stakeholders in Ontario and Quebec to better understand the barriers students and employers face in creating or accessing work-integrated learning (WIL), especially in the wake of COVID-19. We sought to identify solutions to increase the number and quality of WIL placement opportunities.

Virtual event | ON - July 15, 2020 1:30pm EST | QC July 29, 2020 11:00am EST

Read what we heard

Prairies Regional Summary

During the summer of 2020, we spoke to industry and education stakeholders in Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba to better understand the barriers students and employers face in creating or accessing work-integrated learning (WIL), particularly in the wake of COVID-19. We sought to identify solutions to increase the number and quality of WIL placement opportunities.

Virtual event | July 14, 2020 1:30pm CDT, 12:30pm MDT

Read what we heard

Atlantic

During the summer of 2020, we spoke to industry and education stakeholders in the Atlantic provinces to better understand the barriers students and employers face in creating or accessing work-integrated learning (WIL), especially in the wake of COVID-19. We sought to identify solutions to increase the number and quality of WIL placement opportunities.

Virtual event | June 25, 2020 11:30am NDT, 11:00am ADT

Read what we heard

Construction industry

Virtual event | September 24, 2020 3:00pm EDT

Canada's entrepreneurship ecosystems

Virtual event | September 29, 2020 11:00am EDT

Advanced manufacturing industry

Virtual event | September 30, 2020 1:00pm EDT

Financial services

Virtual event | October 7, 2020 10:30am EDT

Digital technology sector

Virtual event | October 13, 2020 1:00pm EDT

Science and innovation (bilingual)

Virtual event | October 21, 2020 2:00pm EDT

Arts and cultural sector (bilingual)

Virtual event | October 27, 2020 11:00am EDT