We are the foremost independent, applied research organization in Canada. We deliver unique insights into Canada’s toughest problems.

Upcoming Events

Work-Integrated Learning Stakeholder Meeting- Territories

FREE Event: July 28 @ 4:00pm EDT, 2:00pm MDT, 1:00pm PDT

Mental Health in the Capital

Conference: Mar 31, 2021  |  Ottawa

Canadian Immigration Summit 2021

Summit:May 26–27, 2021  |  Ottawa

Latest Research

Masked man working in a coffee shop
June’s job increase shows Canada’s economy continues on its long path to recovery

Employment rose by a record 952,900 in June. The rebound was concentrated in services, part-time and low-wage jobs—a partial recovery in the same segments that were hardest hit by the pandemic.

Quick take  |  4-min read
Focus Area—Canadian Economics

Extend wage subsidy program, not individual response benefits

The CEWS is key to helping business deal with the high costs of running a business while COVID-19 is still a threat. The program has received little uptake so far because businesses are just starting to reopen and because companies have been struggling to interpret whether they qualify.

Op-ed  |  4-min read
Focus Area—Canadian Economics

Index of consumer confidence: June 2020

Consumer confidence is improving across Canada as the economy reopens.

Online experience  |  3-min read
Focus Area—Canadian Economics

Saving for the future

As Canada’s baby-boomer generation migrates out of the labour force, a significant share of retirees will see their standard of living decline dramatically.

Online experience  |  4-min read
Focus Area—Canadian Economics