Print Page

Budget Analysis: November 21, 2012

A Cautious Quebec Budget in a Tumultuous Global Economic Environment

by Marie-Christine Bernard and Kristelle Audet | Version française

Quebec’s Budget 2013 comes as the province finds itself in a more precarious economic environment and facing ballooning infrastructure costs. Despite these pressures and revenue challenges, the new government is still planning to balance its books in 2013–14. For this fiscal year, the deficit estimate remains at $1.5 billion.

New taxes will hit higher-income earners and consumers of tobacco and alcoholic beverages as the government moves to shore up revenues. The new Parti Quebecois government could not hold to its election promise to eliminate the $200 flat health care contribution. Instead, a more progressive income tax structure will be put in place. Some taxpayers will not be paying the health care contribution at all, while higher-income earners will be subject to a new tax of as much as $1,000. As well, this new budget raises the tax rate on taxable income above $100,000 by 1.75 percentage points, bringing it to 25.75 per cent. However, the combination of a higher tax rate on higher earnings and the changes to the health contribution will not bring in higher revenues for the government, as the overall level of personal incomes will be lower than previously expected.

Addressing Quebec’s large and growing gross public debt is also an immediate priority for this new minority government. In 2013–14, the government plans to draw about $1 billion from its Generations Fund to help bring down the level of debt. The main factor behind the rapid increase in the debt has been skyrocketing infrastructure spending. Infrastructure Quebec recently mandated SECOR-KPMG to review how infrastructure projects are managed. The study found that for a large number of projects, the estimated initial costs were not realistic. For example, the estimated cost for the construction of the new Turcot interchange in Montréal—which has not even begun—more than doubled between 2007 and 2011, going from $1.5 billion to $3.6 billion.1 Given the impact of large investments in public infrastructure on the growth of the province’s debt, the new government is committed to improving the management of infrastructure projects. By doing so, the government says it will be able to cut capital investment by $1.5 billion in 2013–14 compared with earlier projections, thereby bringing infrastructure spending to a more sustainable level.

Nevertheless, while the Quebec government is prudent in its fiscal and economic projections, global economic uncertainty and the inevitable difficulties in keeping spending and infrastructure budgets under control could make debt reduction a difficult task.

Fiscal Outlook

Infrastructure spending to be but by $1.5 billion in 2012

The new budget maintains the previous government’s target of limiting this year’s deficit to $1.5 billion and  returning to fiscal balance by 2013–14. (See chart “Infrastructure Spending to Be Cut by $1.5 Billion.”) However, returning to a balanced budget will not be easy. The economy is not expected to grow as strongly as had been projected, given the grim global economic environment. And commitments made by the former government mean that there is a revenue shortfall of as much as $1.4 billion in 2013–14 and $2.8 billion in 2014–15. In addition, the new government is also adopting a number of measures that will reduce government revenues. First, the planned increase in annual post-secondary education tuition fees of $1,778 over seven years has been cancelled. Also, the government is not moving forward with the planned $0.01/kWh increase in the price of heritage pool electricity. Instead, electricity prices will be indexed to the cost of living only.

In order for the government to bridge these revenue gaps and offset the fall in revenues from the new measures, a combination of spending cuts and tax increases will be used. Growth in program spending will be limited to 1.8 per cent and 2.4 per cent over the next two fiscal years. In particular, agencies and special funds will be asked to cut spending by $200 million in 2013–14 and 2,000 jobs (out of a total of 22,500) will be eliminated at Hydro-Quebec, with all the cuts coming through attrition.

Revised plan for health care contribution table

On the revenue side, the tax rate on income over $100,000 will be increased by 1.75 percentage points—from 24 per cent to 25.75 per cent. Also, instead of eliminating the health contribution as promised during the election campaign, the new government will keep it in place but apply it in a more progressive way. (See table “Revised Plan for Health Care Contribution.”) As a result, workers earning less than $42,000 per year—two-thirds of all taxpayers—will be paying less than the $200 contribution they had previously paid. The Quebec government will also increase the tax on tobacco products for the first time since 2003. Cigarettes will go up by $4 a carton, which the government says will bring in an estimated $130 million in additional revenues for 2013–14. Alcoholic beverages will also be subject to higher taxes—an additional 3 cents per bottle of beer, 17 cents per bottle of wine, and 26 cents per bottle of spirits.

The new government is making debt reduction an even more pressing priority. Quebec’s gross debt is expected to reach a staggering $200 billion by March next year, or 55.7 per cent of GDP—an increase of one percentage point from a year earlier. The government aims to bring the gross debt-to-GDP ratio below 50 per cent by March 2018 and has kept the same long-term objective of reaching 45 per cent by 2025–26. To attain these goals, the government is planning to manage the Quebec infrastructure plan more closely. Investments in public capital—which were responsible for 65 per cent of the growth in the province’s gross debt this year—will be reduced by $1.5 billion a year as of 2013–14, compared with the March 2012 budget. As a result, infrastructure spending will be capped at a yearly average of $9.5 billion over the next five years.

Economic Outlook

Over the past two years, the Quebec economy grew slowly compared with what we saw in the Western provinces and Ontario. The province will end 2012 with an increase in real GDP of less than 1 per cent—its slowest pace in more than 15 years aside from 2009 (when the economy was battered by the recession). In the near term, economic activity in the province is expected to improve, although real GDP growth will remain modest. The economic forecast underpinning the Quebec 2013 budget is in line with The Conference Board of Canada’s forecast for the next two years. The Quebec Ministry of Finance projects that the economy will grow by 1.5 per cent in 2013 and by 2 per cent in 2014. The Conference Board’s real GDP forecast is just slightly more positive than that, with real GDP growth projected to be 0.1 percentage points higher in each year. While the Quebec economy is expected to improve, risks remain elevated. The export recovery remains fragile, the decline in global metal prices could slow the expansion of the mining sector, and new personal tax measures could depress consumer demand and limit the contribution of households to the economy.

In terms of nominal GDP, which forms the tax base, the Quebec Ministry of Finance expects growth of 3.4 per cent in 2012. Growth is forecast to improve to 3.7 per cent and 4 per cent over the next two years, reflecting a better outlook for corporate profits and for household income and consumer expenditures. After 2014, the Quebec government does not expect the economy to pick up steam, as it will inevitably enter a period of much slower labour force growth. Annual real GDP gains of less than 2 per cent are anticipated for 2015–16, 0.4 percentage points lower than the national average.

Economic Impact of the 2013 Budget

The new measures announced in this budget will have a slightly negative impact on GDP growth in 2013 and 2014. The economic outlook is slightly weaker, as program spending growth will be cut from 3 per cent to 2.4 per cent in fiscal 2014–15, which will take about $200 million out of the economy. Moreover, the cut in public infrastructure investment by an annual average of $1.5 billion could shave 0.2 per cent from the Conference Board’s forecast for real GDP in Quebec in 2013. On a positive note, Quebec will continue to encourage private investment by extending the tax credit for investment in manufacturing and processing equipment an additional two years to 2017. This move should help productivity growth, which has been lagging the Canadian average for a long time.

1    SECOR-KPMG, Étude sur la gestion actuelle du plan Québécois des infracstructures et sur le processus de planification des projets (Montréal: SECOR-KPMG, November 2012).


Marie-Christine Bernard Marie-Christine Bernard
Associate Director
Provincial Economic Trends
Kristelle Audet Kristelle Audet
Economist

Quebec Data

Create an account to purchase data from our e-Data site. If you need this data on a regular basis, consider a database subscription.  

Budget Analysis

Economics Blog

Wanted for Canada-EU Trade: Innovators

September 12, 2014

Europe’s Youth Face a Grim Future

September 08, 2014

Canadian Firms Will Get From CETA What They Put Into It

August 06, 2014

Print Page

l'analyse du budget: le 21 novembre 2012

Un budget prudent dans un contexte économique mondial très agité

par Marie-Christine Bernard et Kristelle Audet | English Version

Le Budget du Québec pour 2013 arrive alors que la province se trouve dans un contexte de plus grande précarité économique et fait face à un gonflement des coûts en infrastructures. Malgré ces pressions et les difficultés qui se posent du côté des recettes, le nouveau gouvernement continue de viser l’équilibre budgétaire en 2013-2014. Pour le présent exercice, il estime que le déficit restera de 1,5 milliard de dollars.

Pour accroître ses recettes, le gouvernement a prévu de nouvelles mesures qui viendront alourdir la charge fiscale des contribuables aux revenus plus élevés et des consommateurs de tabac et d’alcool. Le nouveau gouvernement du Parti québécois n’a pas réussi à respecter sa promesse électorale d’éliminer la contribution santé fixe de 200 $. En remplacement, il opte pour une contribution plus progressive, structurée selon le revenu. Certains contribuables ne verseront aucune contribution santé alors que les contribuables aux revenus plus élevés auront à payer une nouvelle taxe qui pourra aller jusqu’à 1 000 $. De plus, le nouveau budget propose une augmentation du taux d’imposition des revenus imposables supérieurs à 100 000 $ de 1,75 point de pourcentage, pour un taux global de 25,75 p. 100. Cependant, en combinaison, le taux d’imposition plus élevé applicable aux mieux nantis et les changements apportés à la contribution santé ne se traduiront pas par l’augmentation des recettes publiques.

Pour ce gouvernement minoritaire, il est aussi fondamental de s’attaquer rapidement au problème de la dette publique brute du Québec. En 2013–2014, le gouvernement prévoit tirer environ 1 milliard de dollars de son Fonds des générations pour contribuer à réduire la dette. La principale raison de l’augmentation rapide de la dette vient de la montée en flèche des dépenses en infrastructures. Dans une étude que lui a confiée récemment Infrastructure Québec sur la gestion des projets d’infrastructure, SECOR-KPMG a trouvé que, pour un grand nombre de projets, les estimations initiales des coûts n’avaient pas été réalistes. Ainsi, pour la construction du nouvel échangeur Turcot à Montréal (qui n’a même pas encore commencé), les coûts estimatifs ont plus que doublé entre 2007 et 2011 pour passer de 1,5 milliard à 3,6 milliards de dollars1. Étant donné l’effet sur la dette publique québécoise des investissements massifs de la province dans les infrastructures publiques, le nouveau gouvernement s’est engagé à renforcer la gestion de ces projets. Ce faisant, il dit être en mesure de réduire de 1,5 milliard de dollars les investissements dans les immobilisations en 2013-2014 par rapport aux prévisions antérieures, et donc de ramener les dépenses en infrastructures à des niveaux plus soutenables.

Cela dit, si le gouvernement du Québec se montre prudent dans ses prévisions budgétaires et économiques, on peut néanmoins se demander s’il réussira vraiment à réduire la dette publique étant donné la fragilité de la conjoncture économique mondiale et les difficultés inévitables qu’il aura à respecter ses budgets des dépenses et des infrastructures.

Perspectives budgétaires

Les dépenses en infrastructures seront réduites de 1,5 milliard $

Le nouveau budget maintient l’objectif du gouvernement précédent de limiter le déficit de cette année à 1,5 milliard de dollars et de revenir à l’équilibre budgétaire dès 2013-2014. Cependant, il ne sera pas facile de revenir à un budget équilibré. En raison du sombre contexte économique mondial, l’économie québécoise ne connaîtra pas une croissance aussi forte que prévu auparavant. Par ailleurs, les engagements pris par l’ancien gouvernement font que le manque à gagner atteindra 1,4 milliard de dollars en 2013-2014 et 2,8 milliards en 2014-2015. De plus, le nouveau gouvernement adopte aussi un certain nombre de mesures qui limiteront les recettes publiques. Ainsi, il a annulé l’augmentation prévue des frais de scolarité post-secondaire de 1 778 $ sur sept ans. Il est également revenu sur la décision d’augmenter de 0,01 $/kWh le prix de l’électricité patrimoniale pour se contenter d’indexer plutôt les prix de l’électricité sur le coût de la vie.

Pour que le gouvernement comble le manque à gagner et compense la baisse des recettes que représentent les nouvelles mesures, il lui faut à la fois réduire ses dépenses et augmenter les impôts. Au cours des deux prochains exercices, il limitera à 1,8 p. 100 et à 2,4 p. 100 respectivement l’accroissement des dépenses des programmes. En particulier, les organismes et les fonds spéciaux devront réduire leurs dépenses de 200 millions de dollars en 2013–2014 et 2 000 emplois (sur un total de 22 500) seront éliminés par attrition à Hydro-Québec.

Du côté des recettes, le taux d’imposition des revenus supérieurs à 100 000 $ sera haussé de 1,75 point de pourcentage et passera de 24 p. 100 à 25,75 p. 100. De même, au lieu d’éliminer la contribution santé comme il avait promis de le faire pendant la campagne électorale, le nouveau gouvernement la maintiendra, mais l’appliquera de façon plus progressive. (Voir le tableau « Structure révisée de la contribution santé ».) En conséquence, les travailleurs qui gagnent moins de 42 000 $ par année — soit les deux tiers des travailleurs — paieront moins que les 200 $ versés jusque-là. Pour la première fois depuis 2003, le gouvernement du Québec haussera aussi la taxe sur les produits du tabac. Le prix des cigarettes augmentera de 4 $ la cartouche, ce qui assurera une entrée d’argent supplémentaire estimée à 130 millions de dollars en 2013-2014. Les boissons alcoolisées seront aussi assujetties à une nouvelle taxe qui s’élèvera à 3 cents la bouteille de bière, à 17 cents la bouteille de vin et à 26 cents la bouteille de spiritueux.

Structure révisée de la contribution santé

Le nouveau gouvernement fait de la réduction de la dette une priorité importante. La dette brute du Québec devrait atteindre le montant astronomique de 200 milliards de dollars d’ici mars 2013, soit 55,7 p. 100 du PIB ou un point de pourcentage de plus que l’année précédente. Le gouvernement espère ramener le ratio de la dette brute par rapport au PIB en deçà de 50 p. 100 d’ici mars 2018 et s’en tient au même objectif plus lointain de 45 p. 100 d’ici 2025-2026. Pour atteindre ces objectifs, il prévoit exercer une gestion plus serrée du Plan québécois des infrastructures. Les investissements dans les immobilisations publiques, à l’origine de 65 p. 100 de l’augmentation de la dette brute de la province cette année, seront réduits de 1,5 milliard de dollars par an à partir de 2013–2014, en comparaison de ce que prévoyait le budget de mars 2012. Par conséquent, les dépenses en infrastructures seront plafonnées à 9,5 milliards de dollars en moyenne pendant les cinq prochaines années. (Voir le graphique « Les dépenses en infrastructures seront réduites de 1,5 milliard de dollars ».)

Perspectives économiques

Depuis deux ans, l’économie du Québec croît lentement. À la fin de 2012, la province aura enregistré une croissance de son PIB réel de moins de 1 p. 100, le taux le plus bas jamais enregistré en 15 ans (sauf en 2009, année fortement secouée par la récession). À court terme, l’activité économique devrait reprendre de la vigueur dans la province, mais la croissance du PIB réel restera modeste. Les prévisions économiques qui soutiennent le budget du Québec pour 2013 correspondent à celles du Conference Board du Canada pour les deux prochaines années. Le ministre des Finances du Québec prévoit que l’économie provinciale progressera au rythme de 1,5 p. 100 en 2013 et de 2 p. 100 en 2014. Les prévisions correspondantes du Conference Board sont un peu plus positives, à 1,6 et 2,1 p. 100 respectivement pour les mêmes deux années. Cela dit, malgré le progrès envisagé, les risques restent élevés. La reprise des exportations est encore très fragile, le déclin des cours mondiaux des métaux pourrait ralentir l’expansion du secteur minier, et les nouvelles mesures fiscales imposées aux particuliers pourraient ébranler la demande de consommation et limiter la contribution des ménages à l’économie.

Pour ce qui est du PIB nominal, fondement de l’assiette fiscale, le ministère des Finances du Québec s’attend à une croissance de 3,4 p. 100 en 2012 qui devrait même s’élever à 3,7 et à 4 p. 100 durant les deux années suivantes, tandis que s’amélioreront les perspectives de profit des entreprises, de revenu des ménages et des dépenses de consommation. Au-delà de 2014, le gouvernement du Québec sait que la province amorcera inévitablement une période de croissance beaucoup moins rapide de sa main-d’œuvre, ce qui freinera la croissance économique. Il prévoit des gains annuels du PIB réel de moins de 2 p. 100 pour 2015–2016, soit 0,4 point de pourcentage de moins que la moyenne nationale.

Incidence économique du Budget de 2013

Les nouvelles mesures annoncées dans ce budget auront une incidence légèrement négative sur la croissance du PIB en 2013 et 2014. Les perspectives économiques sont un peu plus sombres, en raison des réductions de 3 à 2,4 p. 100 des dépenses des programmes pour 2014-2015, soit quelque 200 millions de dollars de moins injectés dans l’économie. De plus, la diminution de l’investissement dans les infrastructures publiques, à raison de 1,5 milliard de dollars en moyenne par année, coûtera 0,2 point de pourcentage au PIB réel du Québec en 2013, selon les prévisions du Conference Board. En revanche, le Québec continuera d’encourager l’investissement privé en prolongeant de deux ans le crédit d’impôt à l’investissement relatif au matériel de fabrication et de transformation, jusqu’en 2017. Cette mesure devrait stimuler la croissance de la productivité, qui accuse depuis longtemps un retard par rapport à la moyenne canadienne.

1    SECOR-KPMG, Étude sur la gestion actuelle du Plan québécois des infrastructures et sur le processus de planification des projets, Montréal, SECOR-KPMG, novembre 2012.


Marie-Christine Bernard Marie-Christine Bernard
Directrice associée
Kristelle Audet Kristelle Audet
Économiste