Print Page

Diana MacKay

Diana MacKay Diana MacKay
Executive Director, Education, Skills, and Immigration

Diana created and leads the Conference Board’s first provincially-focused research centre, the Saskatchewan Institute. The Saskatchewan Institute brings together the Conference Board’s full range of expertise in economic analysis and forecasting, public policy research, and organizational performance to address themes of leadership, governance, innovation, competitiveness, and more.

Diana also created the Saskatchewan Forum, an annual conference event that showcases the research work of the Saskatchewan Institute, develops themes for new investigation, and is recognized as a signature program bringing together leaders in government, business, academia, and community-based organizations to dialogue on Saskatchewan’s strategic directions.

Diana’s connections with the Province of Saskatchewan are extensive. She has deep knowledge of Saskatchewan’s workforce conditions and nuances, and she works closely with the Saskatchewan Institute's partner organizations to identify strategies—including domestic skills development and immigration pathways—that will help the province achieve a competitive and nimble talent pipeline.

Diana’s leadership of the Centre for Skills and Post-Secondary Education, and the Leaders’ Roundtable on Immigration align well in serving these interests. Diana also has considerable experience working with First Nations and Métis communities in Saskatchewan.

Diana previously spent ten years with the World Bank in Washington, D.C. She also worked in Japan for a traditional Japanese manufacturing company where she was the sole foreign woman in a company of 3000 employees. She earned a BA from Wellesley College in Boston, incorporating a year at Tokyo’s Waseda University. She has a Masters in Public Policy from Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government. She holds the designation of a corporate Chartered Director from The Directors College, a joint venture of McMaster University and The Conference Board of Canada.